Total Metal Shop

EXTREME NOISE TERROR “A Holocaust In Your Head” /CD/

  • EXTREME NOISE TERROR “A Holocaust In Your Head” /CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: CANDLE345CD
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 8
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 7.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 79

< >

Second re-release on CD of the debut full-length album by the legendary British Crust Punk/Grindcore band.
Never were a band and its first album both so suitably named as Extreme Noise Terror and its seminal debut full-length, 1989's "A Holocaust In Your Head". Simply put, this is one of the key releases of both the Crust-Punk and Grindcore genres, second only to Napalm Death's twin-barreled opening blasts, "Scum" and "From Enslavement To Obliteration", most observers would agree, in redefining British music's known limits of sonic extremity with its remorseless aggression, blinding speed, and none-more-raw recording. And yet, though they are now often lumped into one sentence for convenience's sake, the Ipswich-based Extreme Noise Terror differed in many ways from their Birmingham counterparts, primarily for having deeper roots in pure Punk Rock vs. Heavy Metal, and for the still rather unique proposition of possessing two distinct vocalists in Dean Jones and Phil Vane. Those Punk foundations come to the fore on tracks like "F**ked Up System" and "Innocence to Ignorance," which are essentially Hardcore numbers delivered with unprecedented savagery. And with all due respect to Napalm Death and other Grind progenitors, nobody could touch Extreme Noise Terror's fearsome benchmark for political vitriol ("Deceived," "Bullshit Propaganda," "Conned Through Life") and global awareness ("Another Nail in the Coffin," "Raping the Earth," the spectacular vegan anthem "Murder"). These strong messages ultimately come in handy whenever the debilitating musical attack threatens to destabilize completely (see "Use Your Mind" and "Take the Strain") and descend into an outright chaos of repetitive riff patterns, invisible bass guitar, and rattling percussion, all of which is still part of the attraction, mind you.
In any case, there's no doubt that these powerful statements, musical and lyrical, have bestowed enduring relevance upon "A Holocaust In Your Head" (the closing "If You're Only in it for the Music (S.O.D. Off)" really says it all), where "noise for noise's sake" certainly does not.
The first recording and has a much warmer yet messy sound and it is a bit slower than the later recording (so the track lengths are obviously not the same). The re-recorded CD-version from 1991 has a thin sound and is a bit faster, it has also two more tracks ("Fucked Up System” and “No Threat") and a different track list.
Re-edition also contains seven bonus tracks!
Tanglade Ltd/Candlelight Records, 1989/1991/2011 (CANDLE345CD). Made in UK. Pressed in Netherlands. 

1. Deceived     2:01 
2. We The Helpless     0:50 
3. Bullshit Propaganda     1:54 
4. Fucked Up System     0:47 
5. No Threat     1:07 
6. Show Us You Care     3:00 
7. Use Your Mind     2:04 
8. Innocence To Ignorance     1:26 
9. Conned Through Life     1:14 
10. Murder     2:09 
11. Take The Strain     1:12 
12. Another Nail In The Coffin     1:35 
13. Raping The Earth     1:24 
14. If Your Only In It For The Music (S.O.D. Off!)     1:51 
Bonus Tracks: 
15. Intro     2:16 
16. In It For Life     1:56 
17. Subliminal Music Mind Control     1:53
18. Work For Never     1:41 
19. Punk: Fact Or Faction?     1:41
20. Cruelty To Carnivores     2:03
21. Damaging Noise     1:53
Total playing time: 35:57


Leave a review

Please login or register to review