TABERAH “The Light Of Which I Dream” /CD/

The debut full-length album by the Australian Power/Heavy Metal band.
Tasmanian Power Metallers Taberah have been gigging for a while now, and have crafted a solid, entertaining live show. However, in their six year life span the band haven’t committed much in the way of recordings.
The album finds itself in an interesting position, full of ear-stomping, straightforward riffs, but certainly not without a few deviations to the norm. Thankfully, from the effects-laden vocals to finger-snapping beats, these elements fit in nicely with the band’s overall Power Metal vibe. The same can be said for the album intro and the few intervals that are scattered throughout the album. Including these, a band always runs the risk of ruining the flow of the album, however Taberah have ensured that these moments don’t overstay their welcome.
As the album continues, the Rock N’ Roll influence becomes more apparent. Whilst Taberah have done a good job of meshing their influences (which seem to run from The Darkness to Helloween) occasionally a lead will appear straight out of nowhere, and disappear just as quickly, clashing with the rest of what is going on. However, at other times it works great, as “Stormchild” bridging the sonic gap between Danger Danger and Saxon, with lyrics to match. This track is perhaps the highlight of the album, from an arena-worthy chorus to a blistering solo.
"The Light of Which I Dream" is a phenomenal effort for a band of such young musicians. Solid playing on behalf of all the members has ensured everyone knows exactly what the band is about, and front-man Jono Barwick’s vocals sound like the happy medium between Metal master and humble pub Rocker. Thanks to the fun quirks and lyrical subjects that range from battles to broads, the album does too.
It isn’t uncommon for a band to take on a number of styles, place them side by side and call it a day, but Taberah have gone a step further, and created something wholly original!
Metal Evilution, 2011 (ME-001). Made in Australia. First press.

1. The Descent     2:13
2. Brothers Of The Fire     5:26
3. The Call Of Evil     5:02
4. Fearless     4:46
5. Stormchild     4:06
6. The Ballad Of Ruby Joy     2:51
7. The Light Of Which I Dream     7:28
8. Freedom Or Death     5:58
9. Requiem Of The Damned     4:41
10. The Reaper     7:07
Total playing time: 49:38

Leave a review

Please login or register to review