• €8.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 89

< >

The sixth full-length album by legendary British Melodic Alternative/Hard Rock band.
The album marked a musical departure from their signature sound. After the lackluster performance of "Adrenalize", Def Leppard realized it was time to abandon their trademark wall-of-guitars sound. Jettisoning producer Mutt Lange - who, admittedly, was busy producing his wife, country singer Shania Twain - the group stripped its sound to the basics for "Slang". There are very few layers-of-guitar effects on the album, just straight, crunching chords. Most notably, Rick Allen has returned to playing acoustic drums after playing an electronic kit for nearly a decade. The change in approach is apparent and welcome - Def Leppard hasn't sounded so immediate since "Pyromania". Furthermore, they decided to expand their musical vocabulary slightly, working elements of R&B and Funk into the rhythms. Not all of the experiments work, but Def Leppard sound revitalized, particularly when they attack a straightforward rocker. "Slang" would have been even better if they had come up with a set of hooks that sounded as alive as their performance, but the album is a much-needed return to form for the band.
"Slang" is the first album with new material to feature new guitarist Vivian Campbell (Campbell had previously played on B-side collection "Retro Active" in 1993 and on the new song on "Vault" compialtion a year earlier). It charted at #14 on The Billboard 200[6] and #5 on the UK Albums Chart. It is also the only Def Leppard album that does not feature their recognisable logo on the album cover.
Bludgeon Riffola/Mercury Records Ltd. (London), 1996 (532 486-2). Made in Germany. First press.

1. Truth 3:01
2. Turn To Dust 4:22
3. Slang 2:38
4. All I Want Is Everything 5:20
5. Work It Out 4:50
6. Breath A Sigh 4:07
7. Deliver Me 3:04
8. Gift Of Flesh 3:48
9. Blood Runs Cold 4:27
10. Where Does Love Go When It Dies 4:05
11. Pearl Of Euphoria 6:20
Total playing time: 46:02

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

DEF LEPPARD “On Through The Night” /CD/

Re-release of the debut full-length album by legendary British Hard Rock/Heavy Metal band. "On Through TAhe Night" established the band as one of the leading lights of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal. While possessing the tight, controlled attack of comrades Judas Priest and Iron Maid..


DEF LEPPARD “Pyromania” /CD/

Re-release of the third full-length album by legendary British Hard Rock/Heavy Metal band. While Def Leppard had obviously wanted to write big-sounding anthems on their previous records, "Pyromania" was where the band's vision coalesced and gelled into something more. More than ever b..