Re-release of the debut full-length album by Italian Heavy/Thrash Metal band.
Italian Thrashers Broken Glazz have been around since 1989, but their 1991 release “Divine” is probably one of the defining moments of their career as artists who would soon define themselves as starkly original creative sorts who would never let the confines of genres restrain them from playing the kind of music they want to play.
Over the years of their sadly under-published career, Broken Glazz have torn through the boundaries of expectations – delivering pure unadulterated Metal music at every turn regardless of whether it was Thrash or Heavy Metal. With the reissue of “Divine”, we now get to take a walk of memory lane to reminisce on the old glory of Broken Glazz, one the finest Italian experimental Thrash bands to ever grace the industry.
The one thing that defines “Divine” is how immensely technical they get with rhythm. Thrash Metal for the most past is obsessed with speed, but Broken Glazz doesn’t let that get to them. They pace themselves exactly how they think fits the song, and despite churning out some pure Thrash stuff, they have all sorts of influences floating about in this puzzle of an album, that ranges from Dream Theater-esque ballads to groovy Pantera riffing to experimental Thrash, the likes of are probably very difficult for any other act to replicate.
Despite the overall intricacy of their musicianship, their music is catchy as hell. Probably because they are so damn anthemic, and here’s where the old school attitude comes in at full force. The tempo changes are always brilliant and surprising what with all the mad ideas Andrea Verga is spouting, but vocalist Ivan Appino keeps the catchiness alive with his classic Thrash voice and screaming chanters. The music all sounds very gritty but light-hearted – the perhaps Thrash attitude matchup.
It’s just a gigantic lob of old school fun with dashes of manic technicality and the occasional, oddly haunting ballads. There’s absolutely no shortage of surprises or variety here – Broken Glazz wastes no time in going with everything and anything they think they can pull off, oblivious to all the “rules” of Thrash and whatnot. This fine attitude makes for an album that is refreshingly honest and focused on music instead of genres or stereotypes. Broken Glazz does whatever the hell they want, and they do it brilliantly!!
Re-edition features six bonus tracks from "Broken Glass" demo’90.
Punishment 18 Records, 1991/2013 (P18R 067). Made in Italy.

1. Faces On The Floor 6:37
2. Divine 6:12
3. Someday 5:06
4. Electronic Brain 3:45
5. Fun House 3:16
6. Mindless Transparency 7:09
7. Life Gone Wrong 2:13
8. Promised Time 9:40
Bonus Tracks:
9. Rights Of Your Pride 5:54
10. Walkin' The Line 5:44
11. Abstract 2:40
12. Total Despair 5:23
13. Some Day 4:42
14. Broken Silence 4:21
Total playing time: 72:42

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

BROKEN GLAZZ "Withdraw From Reality" /CD/

Re-issue of the 2nd full-length album '92 +  EP "Solitude" '94 by Italian Technical Thrash Metal band. This is the kind of clean, semi-technical melodic thrash metal that was prevalent at the time, reminding of a mixture of Powermad, Xentrix, Watchtower, Realm, Target, Toxik ..