Total Metal Shop

DREAMSCAPE "Everlight" /CD/

  • DREAMSCAPE "Everlight" /CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: SWP 0033 DS
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 6
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 5.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 59

< >

Used: good.

The fifth full-length album by German Progressive Metal band.
Germany always was, and still is, a pile in Prog Metal, giving some outstanding bands in this sub-genre. Dreamscape is one of the most unheard, despite having been founded in the eighties by guitar player Wolfgang Kerinnis.
"Everlight" was out after five years in the making, and as their previous, it's a self-produced and self-released recording, as the band wants to have complete control over its every aspect.
Their previous album "5th Season" was a really good and interesting CD of Technical Prog Metal with Dream Theater influences. For "Everlight" they have become more accessible, with shorter songs and a sound flirting with traditional Prog, and even Proggy-AOR in places. Anyway, we still found here ample space reserved for instrumental stretch-outs, yet never sound over-indulgent or contrived. On some tracks, especially in the three instrumentals, the interplay between guitars and keys (including awesome piano parts) are simply breathtaking. The most impressive thing about this band is their ability to be really powerful and aggressive, and then suddenly break out the acoustic guitars and bring you way down to some beautiful, majestic power ballads.
On the harder side the best songs are the up-tempo and heavy "Restless", the Proggy "Fortune And Fate", and the almost melodic Hard Rocker (with Prog-Metal middle part) "Breathing Spaces", featuring a very good performance by Olivier Hartmann at the mic. The mellower songs abound as well, being the title track one of the best, offering as well a complex arrangement and a male/female duet. Also remarkable is the dreamy "The Violet Flame Forever", driven by real acoustic pianos and subtle guitars.
The music is always interesting, rich in intensity with a super thick sound, yet melodic and ethereal in the calmer parts. It is peppered with catchy moments as well, and the pieces flow from one to another in a fine way. "Everlight" is a fine album of (basically) Technical Prog Metal that on many places has noticeable nods to much 'lighter' genres. Grab it!!
Silverwolf-Productions, 2012 (SWP 0033 DS). Used: good.

1. Final Dawn 2:21 I
2. Restless 5:43 
3. Led Astray 5:12 
4. Fortune And Fate 4:05 
5. The Violet Flame Forever 5:31 
6. A Matter Of Time Transforming 10:39 
7. One 4:09 
8. The Calm Before The Storm^ 5:27 
9. Refugium In DB.Major 1:19 I
10. A Mental Journey 5:31 
11. Breathing Spaces 5:33 
12. Everlight 7:14
Total playing time: 62:44

Leave a review

Please login or register to review