Total Metal Shop

DOKKEN "Erase The Slate" /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: DOKKEN
  • Product Code: 06076 86274-2
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 5
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 4.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 49

< >

The seventh full-length album by the legendary American Hard Rock/Heavy Metal band.
George Lynch departed the Dokken reunion following 1997's "Shadowlife", handing the reins over to former Winger guitarist Reb Beach. Beach has more than enough chops to fill Lynch's shoes, and although he brings his own musical personality to the riffs and solos, the songs' melodies are still recognizably Dokken. It is the only Dokken album to feature Reb Beach.
Unfortunately, those melodies are typical of post-reunion Dokken more often than not, with the band seemingly struggling to come up with the big chorus hook and just not quite getting there (a problem, come to think of it, that sometimes plagued the band in their heyday as well). Although Beach acquits himself well, the songwriting ultimately sinks the record; besides, at this stage of the game, it's difficult to believe Don Dokken when he sings "I must confess, I'm the maddest hatter of them all".
The album has perhaps the most polarizing reception out of any Dokken release from fans and critics alike. Anyway, "Erase The Slate" is workmanlike retro-'80s Hard Rock at its best, and thoroughly unmemorable at its worst. And it's still a great album for Classic Metal fans, and is highly recommended if you want to see a different side of the band than just their Glam Metal work. It shows that even with a certain virtuoso guitarist missing, they still churned out some excellent material with what they had!
CMC International Records/BMG Distribution, 1999 (06076 86274-2).

1. Erase The Slate
2. Change The World
3. Maddest Hatter
4. Drown
5. Shattered
6. One 
7. Who Believes 
8. Voice Of The Soul
9. Crazy Mary Goes Round 
10. Haunted Lullabye
11. In Your Honor


Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

DOKKEN “Original Album Series” /Slipcase 5 CD Set/
DOKKEN “Original Album Series” /Slipcase 5 CD Set/

Re-release of the five classic albums, in one set, by the legendary American Hard Rock/Glam Metal band. A boxset containing all of Dokken's 80's albums: four studio albums and a live album. Includes the albums: "Breaking The Chaines", "Tooth And Nail", "Under Lock ..

DIscount -11%

€ 15.90 € 17.90

DOKKEN "Dysfunctional" /CD/
DOKKEN "Dysfunctional" /CD/

The sixth full-length album by the legendary American Hard Rock/Heavy Metal band. Exactly this is remastered re-edition of the Japanese only release "Dokken" (1994), including two more tracks. It was the band's first release after reuniting in 1993. CD is aptly titled considering the..

€ 5.90