DAVID BOWIE “Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)” /LP/

  • €24.90
  • €23.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 239

< >

Second official re-release of the fourtheenth full-length studio album by legendary British Experimental/New Wave/Post-Punk/Art-Rock singer.
Also known simply as "Scary Monsters", it was Bowie's final studio album on the RCA Records and his first following the Berlin Trilogy of "Low", "Heroes" and "Lodger" (1977–1979). Though considered very significant in artistic terms, the trilogy had proven less successful commercially. 
David Bowie returned to relatively conventional Rock & Roll with "Scary Monsters", which effectively acts as an encapsulation of all his '70s experiments. Reworking Glam Rock themes with Avant-garde synth flourishes, and reversing the process as well, Bowie creates dense but accessible music throughout the album. Though it doesn't have the vision of his other classic records, it wasn't designed to break new ground - it was created as the culmination of Bowie's experimental genre-shifting of the '70s. As a result, "Scary Monsters" is Bowie's last great album. While the music isn't far removed from the Post-Punk of the early '80s, it does sound fresh, hip, and contemporary, which is something Bowie lost over the course of the '80s.
With "Scary Monsters", Bowie achieved what biographer David Buckley called "the perfect balance" of creativity and mainstream success; as well as earning critical acclaim, the album peaked at No. 1 and went Platinum in the UK, successfully restoring Bowie's commercial standing in the US. In 2000, Q Magazine ranked Scary Monsters at No. 30 in its list of the 100 Greatest British Albums Ever. In 2002, Pitchfork Media placed it No. 93 in its Top 100 Albums of the 1980s. In 2012, Slant Magazine listed the album at No. 27 on its list of "Best Albums of the 1980s". In 2013, NME ranked the album at number 381 in its list of The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. In 2018, Pitchfork Media placed it at No. 53 in its revised Top 200 Albums of the 1980s.
2017 Remastered Edition re-release on heavyweight 180 g vinyl. Includes inner sleeve with lyrics.
Parlophone Records Ltd., A Warner Music Group Company, 1980/2018 (0190295842611 (DB 77828)). Made in Germany.


Side 1
1. It's No Game (Part 1) 4:17
2. Up The Hill Backwards 3:13
3. Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) 5:10
4. Ashes To Ashes 4:24
5. Fashion 4:48

Side 2
1. Teenage Wildlife 6:55
2. Scream Like A Baby 3:35
3. Kingdom Come 3:42
4. Because You're Young 4:51
5. It's No Game (Part 2) 4:20

Total playing time: 45:15 min.

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

DAVID BOWIE “David Bowie” (aka “Space Oddity”) /GLP/

The second full-length studio album by legendary British Psychedelic/Folk/Progressive Rock singer. The album came about after Bowie had made the transition from a Cabaret/Avant-garde-inspired musician to a Hippie/Folk-based sound and as such the album is a major turning point from his 1967 debut. I..