Total Metal Shop

CYNIC “Re-Traced” /MCD/

    Band Info

    Band: CYNIC
  • Product Code: SOM 216
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 10
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 9.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 99

< >

First EP from the legendary American Progressive/Experimental Rock/Metal band.
EP features four newly recorded “re-interpretations” of songs from “Traced In Air” and one brand new, never-before-released-track!
The concept is simple: re-record four tracks from the last album, throw in a new song, bundle them up as an EP and release to critical acclaim.
While "Re-Traced" is somewhat of a re-tread of "Traced In Air", it would be a mistake to write it off as the lesser release. Artistically, it’s a remarkable achievement, that demonstrates the breadth and depth of Cynic’s talent.
All are well crafted, beautiful and precise. This EP plays a lot with the dynamics of sound. The interplay between loud and quiet, digital and analog creates rich waves of tension and release.
Overall, the sound of this EP is different, and should be treated as such. If you do go into this EP expecting Metal, or "techno" remixes, you'll be pretty disappointed, but as far as remixes go, these are top-notch, and there are a lot of very beautiful sounds to be had. Cynic fans' tastes for Metal, any open-minded music fan will definitely see the artistic merit of this EP, even if they don't particularly like the music. Recommended to anyone who felt willing to try something new, regardless of their usual tastes in music. This is a truly unique collection of remixes and a new song. It's the best EP of the last years!!
Season Of Mist, 2012 (SOM 216). Made in Austria. First press.

1. Space 5:14 
2. Evolutionary 4:25 
3. King 4:54 
4. Integral 3:51 
5. Wheels Within Wheels 4:45
Total playing time: 23:09

Leave a review

Please login or register to review