Total Metal Shop

CEMETARY "Phantasma" /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: CEMETARY
  • Product Code: BMDP 170
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 5
  • Availability: Not Available

  • € 4.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 49

< >

Used: very good.

The sixth full-length album by the cult Swedish Gothic/Elecro/Industrial Metal band.
After no less than eight years of silence it is once again time for a new Cemetary album. In many ways "Phantasma" seems a logical culmination of Cemetary’s 13-year trajectory. Entirely the work of band founder Matthias Lodmalm, and developed over the course of four years, the album (like its kaleidoscopic cover) is a collage, melding the Goth Rock, Electronica, Industrial and Metal that have all entered the Cemetary mix at one time or another.
Despite a strong groove and some interesting percussion, "Phantasma" doesn’t really wow you right away, and one of the coolest tracks, "Drowning Out the World”, doesn’t come until the whole thing’s nearly over. But with its prevailing atmosphere of negativity, which is no more surprising than its cross-genre sound, "Phantasma" would be a good soundtrack choice when it’s time to wallow in misanthropy!
Without losing touch with emotions nor melody, Crematory builds their songs with a strong sense of individuality, separating themselves from the great mass of Marilyn Manson wannabes who have followed in the footsteps of their mentor.
"Phantasma" blends incredibly heavy Industrial walls with soft and gentle melancholy with a result that remains close to perfection. A further punch is added through the production which no flaws with at all. "Phantasma" is a powerful and personal album that should appeal to everyone who don't mind their Metal to come in an Industrial flavour!!
Black Mark Production, 2005 (BMDP 170). Used: very good.

1. Far From God 4:03
2. Plasma Phantasma 4:05
3. Basic Black 5:59
4. Down Cold 3:19
5. Coma Burn 4:51
6. 2nd Last To Nowhere 5:11
7. Wavecell 5:32 
8. Drowning Out The World 4:41
9. Tapes Of Their Voices 4:36
Total playing time: 42:17

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

CEMETARY "Sweetest Tragedies" /CD/
CEMETARY "Sweetest Tragedies" /CD/

Greatest hits set successfully chronicles the career of Sweden’s Cemetary, tracing the band’s transformation from Brutal Death Metal into a Techno-inflected, Gothic Metal sound. A must for every Metal-collector!! Black Mark Production, 1998 (BMCD136). First press. Tracklist: 1.La..

€ 9.90