Total Metal Shop

ARTILLERY “Fear Of Tomorrow” /GLP/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: BOBV656LP
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 24
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 23.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 239

< >

First European re-release of the debut full-length studio album by legendary Danish NWOBHM/Speed/Technical Thrash Metal band.
Ever since the mid-80s, barging into the heated European Metal scene, Artillery slowly became an icon, a pioneer in Europe for an above normal kind of Thrash Metal, which was, and still is, a pictorial of skilled musicianship and high quality songwriting.
More than 30 years since the band’s inception, the Plastic Head Distribution decided to reissue Artillery’s first two offerings, such tokens of Metallic history that made them. “Fear Of Tomorrow”, originally released in 1985 via the iconic British label, Neat Records, officially presented a leathery spiked fist of what Denmark has to offer in the slowly combusting Thrash Metal subgenre.
True that Artillery has been known as a sort of Technical driven Metal band, instigating constructive form of riff composition and moderately assorted song structures, however, “Fear Of Tomorrow”, through its majestic rawness, shared a different picture of what is presented for example on the later “By Inheritance”.
The album displays a three-year running band, still considered a newcomer, but with visions into a bright future of look forward beyond the horizon. The energetic music demonstrates a fusion of NWOBHM, sparks of crooked Punk and destructive Speed Metal assault, a playground for a show of tantalizing force, high quality executions of might and musical appreciation. Such an addictive form of sound, even in the unpolished values of this release, are a true pleasure.
Artillery’s “Fear Of Tomorrow” evolved to become an urge to be slightly more original than the other bands that were playing at the time, especially the upcoming starlets of the Bay Area wave. Of course, that it was only the first step in a long process. The blood boiled “King, Thy Name Is Slayer” and “Into the Universe” are merciless, storming with menace into one’s brains, yet “Out of the Sky” is there to command as the band’s crown jewel out of the album, a riff master of pure genius. And there comes the darkest seducer, “Deeds of Darkness”, thick by its heaviness, it showcases a charging up intro that slowly leads into a bashful maw of a volcano, erupting with rage, surely one of the band’s challenging tune musically.
Plenty of Thrash Metal bands back in 1985 have already sunk their teeth in the Metal scenes worldwide; “Fear Of Tomorrow” nonetheless, forced the newbie Thrash Metal followers to look deeper, beyond the generic form!
White Vinyl in gatefold cover.
Sanctuary Records Group Ltd., a BMG company/Back On Black/PHD, 1985/2019 (BOBV656LP). Made in UK. Pressed in Czech.


Side A (other side)
1. Time Has Come 5:19
2. The Almighty 4:14
3. Show Your Hate 4:49
4. King Their Name Is Slayer 3:42
5. Out Of The Sky 3:35

Side B (this side)
6. Into The Universe 3:45
7. The Eternal War 5:25
8. Fear Of Tomorrow 3:27
9. Deeds Of Darkness 6:36

Total playing time: 40:52 min.

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

ARTILLERY /Autographed Card/
ARTILLERY /Autographed Card/

Card autographed by all band members in August 2013 at Metal Heads' Mission Festival...


€ 19.90