Total Metal Shop

AKERCOCKE “Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone” /Ltd. CD + DVD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: MOSH 322CDL
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 15
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 14.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 149

< >

The fourth full-length album by the British Progressive Black/Death Metal band.
This album is the first Akercocke release not to feature the original line-up of the band, with Matt Wilcock (ex-The Berzerker) instead of Paul Scanlan on guitar; though the majority of the material was co-written with Paul Scanlan before he was fired.
"Words That Go Unspoken…" pretty much picks up where "Cronozon" left us. All the trademark stylings of Akercocke are there: demonic tremolo picked Black Metal esque riffing, Brutal Death Metal runs, amazing drumming and yes the clean passages.
What is noticeable is that the album is very well produced, with none of the "necro" aspects of low fidelity basement Black Metal but also maintaining an organic feel as well. The production definitely has a bass presence as opposed to the weak and thin sounding production of other Metal albums from the 2000s. The riffs have a slightly Thrashy vibe to them, and the drumming of David Gray is a highlight. What is exceptionally striking is the vocal performance of frontman Jason Mendonca. He goes from deep, guttural growls ala Suffocation's "Effigy of the Forgotten" as well as very strong clean vocals. Essentially, this shows that Akercocke were indeed very adept at mixing all of the best elements of pure Death Metal, abrasive Black Metal, and emotional clean passages to create an atmosphere that has arguably yet to be surpassed in the realm of Extreme Metal. Indeed, Akercocke could very well be viewed as a more extreme version of Opeth. They, like Opeth, are very much Progressive Rock influenced as well as being influenced by various Extreme Metal bands. However, Akercocke are more adept at molding these influences into a truly transcendent experience.
The music throughout the entirety of the album, much like the vocals, runs the summit of the best aspects of Extreme Metal. Brutal Death metal fills, violent Black Metal runs, and soft Depeche Mode-esque clean and experimental passages are interspersed with Progressive Rock tendencies ala Rush and Yes. Not to mention, the obvious Thrash and Progressive Death Metal influences of the likes of Sabbat, Dark Angel and Death. This album could almost be viewed as the "Dark Side Of The Moon" of Extreme Metal. A masterpiece that combines the best aspects of the genres it is influenced by combined with atmospheric production to create a numinous experience. The musicianship on the album combines the technical prowess of Progressive Rock while maintaining the structural pragmatism to make each track memorable.
All in all, "Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone" is a master achievement that shows just what Extreme Metal is capable of when lyrical and conceptual intellectualism meet technical musical prowess. This is highly recommended to anyone who is a fan of the most Extreme Death Metal or Black Metal, as well as Progressive and Experimental tendencies and intellectually tinged lyrical content. Pick this album up already!!
Limited Edition includes 30-minute bonus DVD with exclusive footage, a making of the album, and a documentary of the band!
Earache Records, 2005 (MOSH 322CDL). Made in UK. First press.

1. Verdelet 4:45
2. Seduced 4:40
3. Shelter From The Sand 10:40
4. Eyes Of The Dawn 4:40
5. Abbadonna, Dying In The Sun 1:20
6. Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone 5:12
7. Intractable 3:56
8. Seraphs And Silence 4:44
9. The Penance 4:32
10. Lex Talonis 3:29
Total playing time: 47:58

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

AKERCOCKE “Antichrist” /Ltd. Super Jewel Box CD/
AKERCOCKE “Antichrist” /Ltd. Super Jewel Box CD/

The fifth and the final full-length studio album by the British Progressive Black/Death Metal band. It is band's first release to feature Peter Benjamin on bass, having replaced Peter Theobalds. Akercocke is one of the few elite Metal bands with an instantly recognizable sound. Over the years,..

€ 14.90

AKERCOCKE “Goat Of Mendes” /Digipack CD/
AKERCOCKE “Goat Of Mendes” /Digipack CD/

Re-release of the second full-length album by the British Progressive Black/Death Metal band. Formed by Jason Mendecona and David Gray after the split of their previous band, Salem Orchid, Akercocke didn't take long to make a name for themselves. Their brand of Black/Death Metal driven by sex, ..

€ 9.90