Total Metal Shop

AKERCOCKE “Antichrist” /Ltd. Super Jewel Box CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: MOSH347CDL
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 15
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 14.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 149

< >

The fifth and the final full-length studio album by the British Progressive Black/Death Metal band.
It is band's first release to feature Peter Benjamin on bass, having replaced Peter Theobalds.
Akercocke is one of the few elite Metal bands with an instantly recognizable sound. Over the years, its Blackened Death Metal has become more experimental and diverse, culminating in 2005's amazing "Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone". Prog Rock, piano, and Post-Punk partied together amid unpredictable songwriting.
On "Antichrist", Akercocke reins in its songwriting – no more ten-minute opuses. Instead, the songs are more focused and individually memorable, though they don't reach the delirious heights of before. The album sequencing, too, is more cohesive, with a well-placed tribal drum interlude, and a haunting acoustic coda over synth cello plucks. However, the band still experiments more than its peers ever do. "Axiom" begins with blastbeats and acoustic guitars (a thrilling combination), while "The Dark Inside" drops out-of-nowhere drum 'n' bass beats, complete with hoover bassline. It's not just a "let's use electronics" move, as the drums remain thankfully real, but hearing that distorted bassline muscle its way through is a shock, and a good one. "Akercocke" hasn't lost its Metal edge, though – far from it. "Summon the Antichrist" and "The Dark Inside" showcase the band's strengths – alternating robust Blackened Death with Prog parts and sonorous singing. "Man Without Faith or Trust" may be the most brutal thing it's done, as drummer David Gray unleashes jawdroppingly fast blastbeats.
All in all, this is a great album which lives up to Akercocke's infallible back catalogue. It contains the heavy/clean dynamics we've come to expect. Mr.Mendonca has added yet another weapon to his vocal arsenal with his yelling style which works to great effect on "Antichrist". No doubts, this is one of the most creative Metal albums of the year!
The limited edition Super Jewel Box version includes two bonus cover-songs by Morbid Angel & Death!
Earache Records, 2007 (MOSH347CDL). Made in UK. First press.

1. Black Messiah
2. Summon The Antichrist
3. Axiom
4. The Promise
5. My Apterous Angel
6. Distant Fires Reflect The Eyes Of Satan
7. Man Without Faith Or Trust
8. The Dark Inside
9. Footsteps Resound In An Empty Chapel
10. Epode
Bonus Tracks:
11. Chapel Of Ghouls
12. Leprosy


Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

AKERCOCKE “Goat Of Mendes” /Digipack CD/
AKERCOCKE “Goat Of Mendes” /Digipack CD/

Re-release of the second full-length album by the British Progressive Black/Death Metal band. Formed by Jason Mendecona and David Gray after the split of their previous band, Salem Orchid, Akercocke didn't take long to make a name for themselves. Their brand of Black/Death Metal driven by sex, ..

€ 9.90